Stop Cyber Thieves Now!

WHAT CAN WE DO TO PROTECT OUR PHOTOS & INNOCENT POSTINGS FROM GETTING INTO THE WRONG HANDS?

I’m shocked that in less than a week I’ve found more than two cases of “foto theft” … this being photos of YOUR work, being featured on other blogs and passed as THEIR work. How horrid is that!

Cyber theft, plagiarism call it whatever you want, for newbies like me on the “blogesphere” is a big worry and I’d like to make you aware of it.

Although one might find it amusing or a compliment  to find people might like your crochet pics… I certainly wouldn’t be  delighted to find pics of my family, children, husband etc being featured perhaps in a more unsavoury manner… understand what I’m trying to say here???!!!

Just like the majority of you out there, I’m just a simple girl at heart… All I want to do is crochet, proudly show off my creations, my family and cyber rant to those of you who understand me to spare those close to me the headache!

SO WHAT CAN WE DO TO PROTECT OUR PHOTOS, INNOCENT POSTINGS and HARD WORK FROM GETTING INTO THE WRONG HANDS? How can we  make this type of theft less frequent?

Well, not being a solicitor and neither really understanding copywrite laws, nor geeky software which could be used, these  are a few pointers which I’ve picked up to make sure nobody uses your material without your knowledge.

Consider :

Pasting a copy of the paragraph below  onto  your site to put them off a little:

 © [Full Name] and [Blog Name], [Current Year orYearRange]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Your Name] and [Your Blog Name] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Consider :

 Using a watermark. ( like I have above) on your photos

 Although, watermarks can be photoshopped out,  they are still a deterrent, because photoshopping will take time.

Crop a photo before uploading it. Perhaps it may help if the picture you posted is part of a bigger original.? That may help resolve any doubt about who really shot the picture.? This will help if/ when you are threatening legal action

Try using protection Software… ( if you know how to!)

Prevent Right clicking – You can use this little code to prevent people from right clicking on an image and downloading it.? It’s an easy enough fix, especially in WordPress.

Prevent  people from linking directly to images on your blogThis solution is only applicable to self-hosted blogs. After my initial double take, I realized it wasn’t really a difficult fix either

Without further ado… most of the information above was copied and pasted from my WordPress provider, some directly off Flickr too,  as they have the advice and information on there for you ..I just wanted to remind you all to have a read of these, or refer to your relevent blog providers  and photo sharing sites.

 

references:

http://en.support.wordpress.com/prevent-content-theft/

http://en.support.wordpress.com/prevent-content-theft/

Finally… what do you think of my the progress on my blankets so far???

Have a great rest of the week…. I’ll be posting more later in the week

All my love Helen x

4 thoughts on “Stop Cyber Thieves Now!

  1. The blanket is looking lovely Helen, speedy as usual 😉 Thanks for all the info, they have taken 3 photos of mine also, I tried leaving a comment but its impossible as they’re asking for a profile and I can’t do it, so my photos are on there and I can’t do a thing about it ;( The lovely pink handbag photo they’ve pinched is also from Flikr..I think it’s Saracrochet’s photo. It’s disgusting really.

    1. Ok, I’ve just had another look and she’s actually posted the link to where she’s picked up the photo of yours and the bag… at last some credit to you both.

      AND she has posted an apology to Hiedi Bears for copying her tutorial without posting a link reference….. I could post a comment on there for you if you like. H x

  2. Thanks for that interesting information Helen, well done for doing all that research. I didn’t realise that this went on, I will be more wary in the future.
    Your blanket is coming on great, knowing you it will be finished by the end of the week lol xx

    1. Hi Linda,

      it was brought to my attention through a blog I follow and a few other members on flickr.. its not the photos of the crochet that I resent people copying and pasting.. its passing it on as their own work that I resent…

      I’ve got too much time on my hands I guess… best spent crocheting me thinks.

      I promise you some lighter hearted content in my next post 🙂

      All my best to you Linda.. thanks for following xxx

Leave a Reply

