My Birthday 2012 .. age 48!!!

My Birthday 2012 mosaic

Wow, what a day its been. It started off with a couple of cards in the post from friends and family, flowers and bulbs that needed to be taken care of… thankfully it was a glorious morning to deal with all of that.

I’ve been spoilt rotten by the Boys and friends, with lots of lovely wine,home cooked food, handmade candles, flowers plus many smiles and cuddles.. I’ve literally not lifted a finger all day! Bliss.

Although, I did make an Apple Bread recipe which Gaby sent me to try through face book .. so here it is…

“Easy Apple Bread: beat 2 eggs, add a cup of oil and a cup of sugar (or 3/4 if less sweet), mix well. Add 3 peeled and chopped apples. You can add 1 cup nuts if you like. Then separately mix dry ingredients: 2 cups and a bit of whole wheat flour, 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg or allspice. Then mix it all together, transfer to loaf tin, oval Pyrex.. bake for an hour at 175C (350F). then let sit for 15 minutes .. and honestly there’s not much else to say about it other than its as easy as that.. and its scrummy.

P2110254

I decorated mine with heart-shaped apple slices and some cherries that I had in the fridge, sprinkled with brown sugar before I placed it in the oven.. it’s very filling and I imagine its one of those loaves that improves in flavour the next day. 

 So, I’m off to bed now with a lovely warm fuzzy feeling inside from reading all your beautiful messages .. thank you.. its been a perfect end to a perfect day.

On Tuesday I’ll be telling you about all the crazy bargain goodies I managed to find at the pound shop to help me complete my “jolly Abigail bunting”

Sending Lots of Love to all my Cyber Sisters out there… Helen xxxxxxxx

12 thoughts on “My Birthday 2012 .. age 48!!!

  1. Hi Helen, A very happy birthday for yesterday! Sounds like you had a wonderful time and it’s good to hear you were spoilt – you deserve it 🙂
    Your apple bread recipe looks lovely and I think I have all the ingredients in my cupboard so I will try to make it sometime soon.
    It was very kind of you to think of me for the Versatile Blogger Award – It’s been a busy few days but I’ll try and fulfil the criteria soon 😉
    Have a lovely sunday!
    Maggie xx

  2. I am so very happy that you had a great birthday 😀 So very much deserved 😀
    Your pictures speak of a wonderful day and Alex looks great 😀
    Your desk looks very busy and exciting to the crafter in us 😉 And that apple cake recipe is amazing, definitely one for the recipe book.
    Looking forward to what you have in store for us on Tuesday.
    With Love & Hugs
    ttfn 😉
    Mo x

  3. Hi Helen,

    Your birthday sounded just perfect with family and lots of love.
    Love your pictures . Alex looks great he made me laugh.
    The more I learn about you the more amazing you become .
    So happy you had a wonderful day and thanks for sharing that wonderful apple bread with us.
    Looking forward to Tuesday and every post you make.
    Love ,Yoka

  4. Helen here is my apple cake. Every one loves this one and wants the recipe.
    My apple recipe.

    1 cup butter

    2 cups sugar

    4 eggs

    1 tspn vanilla

    1 1/2 tspn cinnamon

    1 tspn baking soda

    1/2 tspn nutmeg

    1 cup nuts

    1/2 cup water

    2 1/2 cups flour

    2 cups fresh apples

    Cream butter and sugar till smooth with mixer.

    Add eggs one at a time.

    Beat well after each egg.

    Mix flour and all dry ingredients.

    Add to butter mixture with water.

    Mix well. Finish by hand adding apples and nuts (pecans).

    Bake at 350 degrees in a greased and floured pan 1 1/4 – 1 1/2 hours.
    I use a round bund pan to bake it in.
    Enjoy.

    1. Ohh Yoka, I’m so happy Alex made you laugh… he’s an exceptional character at times!

      Now, this cake.. I think I’m gonna have to make one soon… thanks for your lovely words and for sharing this Gorgeous recipe!!! Yummmyyy

      Lots of love to you from all of us x

Leave a Reply

